Posted by: Raws | June 6, 2011

Manga Monday: Ao no Exorcist (Blue Exorcist)

Blue Exorcist

Since volume one came out in April I’ve debated about reading Blue Exorcist. The only reason I hesitated was due to reading burnout.  So instead of reading it I went to Hulu and began watching the anime.  It’s because of the anime that I’m now reading the manga. Blue Exorcist translates really well into anime and I’ve enjoyed watching it.

The shounen genre of manga always have nice art styles. All are a little unique but similar. This one is no different. The art is detailed enough but it does fall into the generic look of action anime/manga that’s been prevalent these last couple of years. Even so, I do like the art style; it reminds me of Durarara and Nurarihyon. And unlike other genres (such as shoujo) it focuses on all the general aspects of the manga like art background, characters, story, and most important, the action; just in a less emotional driven way.

My favorite character is of course the main guy, Rin, but there are support characters I like as well. I have a soft spot for characters like Shieme. She reminds me of myself when I was an innocent little girl not only in personality but in appearance.  I had a haircut like that until sixth grade.

If you like misunderstood protagonists, demons, exorcists, and/or action this manga may interest you. Or watch the anime on Hulu for free.

Leave a Reply

Categories

