Posted by: Raws | May 9, 2011

Manga Monday: Clover by CLAMP

I just re-read Clover and it still depresses me. Whenever I think of it I feel a quiet sadness settle over me. For some reason I hardly thought of it as sci-fi because that element is not what the whole story is about.  Clover focuses mainly on the characters within its pages and the sci-fi parts are there to add color to them, to make them more interesting. I find the world CLAMP created in Clover interesting and like one I would find in my own dreams; a bit confusing; sparse in detail; but beautiful to see.

When it first came out in the States I only bought and read the first two volumes.  I did pick up the third vol, but when I saw what it was about I couldn’t bear to read more. I don’t want to spoil things, but I will say I may have liked it better if I read the stories in chronological order.  That said, I finally read all four volumes in their published order.  I read the omnibus version from Dark Horse with all it’s wonderful colored pages and in the original right to left format. I mention the format because when it was first published here by Tokyopop they had it flipped, which was very common back then.

Regardless of how it was published, this work of CLAMP’s is still very beautiful to me.  I love the mechanical wings and the subtle crisp details. Each page has a unique layout and as a whole rather sparse with the backgrounds and the story. It focuses greatly on emotion and characters. I feel like there is more to the story and apparently there is according to Clamp. Sadly, four volumes are all there is for now just like how other works from Clamp have been left unfinished.

If you like subtle sci-fi, mechanical wings, or being a bit sad, check out Clover by CLAMP.

Leave a Reply

Categories

