Posted by: Raws | April 25, 2011

Manga Monday: AiON (Volume 1)

This manga has nothing to do with the online game Aion. =)

For this week’s Manga Monday, I went out and bought a newly released manga I’ve never read. My search brought me to AiON by Yuna Kagesaki. It seemed to have potential from what I read on the back.  A teenage guy just lost his parents and then stumbles into a war between mind controlling parasites and the immortal Seine who happens to be going to his school.  By the end I found out it was one of those manga where the strange girl the main guy meets ends up living with him. Stereotypes abound here.

Besides the slightly cliché story, the art is pretty basic when it comes to these types of manga.  Lots of face closeups too.

I probably won’t  buy the next one.  It isn’t the kind I would invest money in.  I rarely choose anime over manga, but in this case I would rather watch the anime.  I may even go out of my way to watch it.  It’s the kind that translates well into animation better than a manga like Amatsuki or 07 Ghost.  I feel this is mainly because of the quality of art. The art in AiON just isn’t all that detailed.

I would say read it if you liked Yuna Kagesaki’s other works like Chibi Vampire. Personally, I won’t be buying volume 2.

Leave a Reply

Categories

