Posted by: Raws | April 11, 2011

Manga Monday: Zetman

The last two Mondays have featured licensed manga, so for this week here’s an unlicensed one! Zetman by Masakazu Katsura

The thing I love about it is all the mad science stuff.  The Amagi Corporation is the one responsible for all the evil beings, Players, who plague the world in the manga.  Big bad corporation for the win.

The whole series centers around two characters: Jin and Kouga. Jin transforms into ZET, a superhuman devil guy.  And Kouga starts out as just a super rich kid with a strong sense of justice.  I don’t want to spoil the story so I won’t go into more details.

The art is on the realistic side of the manga art spectrum.  Not as stylized as all the new ones floating around. You’ll find no slim girly boys in there.

This one is not for kids.  There are many graphic scenes and no one gets through unscathed. Despite its generic seeming plot, Masakazu knows how to spice things up with crazy.  I’m finally reading it again after a long hiatus on my part.  If you like action, crazy science, and graphic scenes, then you may find yourself liking this one.

Look it up!

Responses

  1. OH! You’re reading zetman now? How did you find out my dirty little secret. I stopped a few years ago in vol. 6 so I could gorge myself on several volumes at once. Wanna gorge together in june?

    • Sounds good.
      I just started back up again after a long break from reading it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

