Posted by: Raws | March 31, 2011

On the Topic of Similar Stories/Novels

Thanks to one of my friends on Facebook I’ve found out about a potential threat to the story that I’ve started sharing/writing on this blog on Tuesdays.  When I read this first paragraph about this series my heart stopped a bit:

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beat the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED.

The story I’m writing has nothing to do with zombies. Though it has sort of the same premise. Humanity has cured cancer and even the common cold. And then of course a virus is born from that and spreads. But even though the world is similar it’s less apocalyptic and more post-apocalyptic. Set farther in the future with a more mystical/supernatural feel. No flesh hungry peoples; more like crazed murderers.  But humanity dealt with the crisis and has moved on. Or have they?

At one point I tried connecting it with science but then it turned into a more Matrix-like story. Virtual worlds. No thanks. I’ll save that for the video games. The only aspect I kept from that was tying it to the real world. I originally thought of it as a completely separate world from ours. Now it’s a future, post-apocalyptic world.

So anyways, I freaked out a little.  Now I’ve come to my senses after looking at all these disconnects between what I’ve thought up and this book called FEED.  I’m actually looking forward to reading it now. It’s good to check out the competition.

 

Tomorrow is Photo Friday.

Leave a Reply

Categories

