Posted by: Raws | March 26, 2011

Thoughts on the Final Alex Rider Novel

I mentioned Alex Rider in my last book review and early last night I finished the book. I was sad to see it would be the final book to feature my favorite teen spy. There was never a dull moment throughout the whole thing.  A nice emotional ride.  Even one of the main characters dies.  I was a bit skeptical at first when it happened because of a lack of evidence. Shows have taught me that if you don’t see the body then there is a chance they’ll come back.  But this was not one of those cases.

This is on of those series’ I saved to give to my little brother turning 13 this year.  Good for young minds who like action and spy stuff.  I mainly enjoyed it because the “reluctant” spy thing and because of all the evil and mad scientist types throughout the books.

I enjoyed it greatly while reading, but after it was over I felt the void rush in.  I desperately started looking at all my other books for something to fill the emptiness. While doing so I realized most of them had female leads.  And I really didn’t want to read one told in first person by the female lead.  I have about five books like that and they’ve burnt me out. Sorry Sookie, Rachel, and Mercy, I just not feeling into that right now.

Luckily I found Blackout by Rob Thurman (don’t let the name fool you, it’s written by a woman); the next novel in her Cal Leandros series.  I’ve been needing a snarky bad boy novel to read, so that’s the book I’m focusing on now.

Leave a Reply

Categories

