Posted by: Raws | March 14, 2011

Manga Monday: X/1999

All the destruction happening in Japan made me think about the unfinished manga by CLAMP: X/1999. It’s about the end of the world and the people involved in the fight that will decide its fate.

This was one of the first manga I read along side Ranma and Sailor Moon, so it holds a special place in my heart.  This was the first work by Clamp that I read and from then on I’ve followed everything they’ve done.  I’ve also watched all its adaptations.

The story is full of angst, drama, blood, and death. A very dark manga.The scenery is gorgeous; the battles epic; and the character designs are unique if not dated. Everyone has giant triangle shoulders. This sometimes looks a bit weird to me.

The bad thing is that it isn’t finished and may never be. I’ve given up on seeing it completed. I’ve even tried to get all the volumes, but as you can see from the photo above I’ve managed to get my hands on some of the old releases and some of the newer ones by Viz. I also bought a lot of the original Japanese releases, but lately I’ve slacked on my search for all the books; both Japanese and English.

Overall X is pretty awesome if you like the story elements I previously listed. I can always rely on Clamp to deliver a dark angsty story and this was their first one I fell for. And because of this review I’ve started to re-read it.

Check it out if you haven’t already!

Leave a Reply

Categories

