Posted by: Raws | February 28, 2011

Manga Monday: Amatsuki

I hate writing summaries so here’s what the wikipedia page says;

“Tokidoki is a Japanese high school student who, when he fails his history class, is sent to a high-tech history museum that virtually recreates the Edo period to do make-up work. However, what was supposed to be a simple school project becomes much more complicated when he’s attacked by two supernatural beings known as “the nue” and “the yakou” and loses the vision in his left eye. After he’s saved from the nue by a girl named Kuchiha, he realizes that he’s no longer wearing the simulation goggles, and is trapped in the virtual Edo. Meanwhile in the real world, Sensai Corporation, the virtual reality company who made the virtual museum Tokidoki is trapped in, is seen throughout the story.”

I found this one while looking through Monthly Comic Zero Sum.  What struck me first was the art.  Very pretty and crisp. I love looking at it. And just look at how cute Tokidoki looks! Here’s another example of the how nice the art is;

If you can’t tell already my favorite character is Toki. He’s clueless at times but is one of those free spirits.  I’m also partial to Bonten (the one on the bottom right) because he can be badass.

The free translations online vary in quality.  The story is a bit confusing, but I think with professional translations it would be less so.  I would love to see this licensed and officially translated. This is one of those mangas that I want to read over again and own.

Look it up!

Responses

  1. I totally agree with you, Amatsuki is definitely one of my favorite manga and I have always dreamed to have a copy of my own in English to read over and over again! 🙂

    Toki is also my favorite character, he is so adorable, yet strong and straight – forward.

    • Now if only a company would license it! It’s times like these I wish I had the money to start a business to license and publish manga.

      • so true! ;A;


Leave a Reply

Categories

