Posted by: Raws | February 22, 2011

On the Topic of Blogging

Because of the Post a Day 2011 Challenge, the Daily Post has been periodically posting tips on how to blog better and about how others do their blogging. Things like picking a theme for your blog and writing blogs ahead of time. I’ve started to use these tips here at Weblog Raws. Some of the tips I’ve read are “no brainers” but some have gotten me thinking about my own way of blogging.

One thing I realize I need to do is start blogging when I feel like blogging. A couple of days ago I did it and the result was the creation of the “On the Topic…” category.  I did mention this on an earlier blog, but at the time I was a little tipsy from the party that night and couldn’t manage much of a blog. It’s times like those I need to have something written ahead of time. Lesson learned, hopefully. If I start typing when I get an idea I can write a blog rather fast, but from that night of writing I discovered you also need to know when to stop.  I say this because I got to the point where I was too tired to type properly.  I ended up staying up till five but I did get a lot of reading done.

Another key point that I’ve found difficult to do, sometimes, is finding a quiet place to sit and blog.  Plus finding the time. I know that if I told my family I needed to be alone for a while they would respect my wishes but I would feel bad about ditching them. What it really boils down to is time management.  I definitely struggle with that but I’m sort of getting the hang of it.

Besides managing time,  I like how I’ve sectioned off the days of the week into different categories.  This helps me write blogs ahead of time.  Maybe by the end of the year each weekday will have a theme, but at the moment I like to write about what I want when I want.

Tomorrow I might write a review of one of the books I’ve finished or a movie I’ve seen recently.

Leave a Reply

Categories

