Posted by: Raws | February 2, 2011

Amelia Atwater-Rhodes: Author/Book Review

I’ve read Amelia Atwater-Rhodes‘ books since I fell madly in love with Demon in My View during high school. Her books were the first urban fantasy novels I read with the right amount of angst and high school drama. This was before the vampire/supernatural craze that has swept the nation in recent years. Authors these days waste lots of reader’s time on fluff and length, but Amelia is not one of those.  Her first ones are short but what they lack in length they make up for in emotion.

The reason I’m writing a blog about all her novels is mainly because I just finished reading her latest one; All Just Glass.  This one is actually a sequel to one of her earlier books, Shattered Mirror, published in 2001. I’ve waited ten years to read this sequel and I was not disappointed. After finishing this new one I immediately wanted to re-read the first.

So when I want to read about vampires I usually turn to her books.  I love the feel of them and was definitely disappointed when she turned away from urban fantasy.  But those years were not wasted. To me she is the first and seemingly only author I know of to write about a world revolving around shapeshifters.  She went from angsty “teen” vampires to warring shapeshifters. I was a little pissed, but then I came to enjoy reading about those new characters especially the falcon ones.

In my book, the one thing that beats vampires is flying peoples and or flying in general.  I love all things feathered! Plus flying would be sooo cool!

Anyway, I’ve just always loved Amelia’s novels. Her stories and characters have always spoken to me on a higher level than most others.  I’m already looking forward to reading her next one. Check out her books if you like supernatural stories that don’t drown you in nonsense.

There is only one thing about them that I’ve grown to hate: the book covers.  Gawd are they getting awful. Just look at the cover of the newest one.

Photoshop garbage I say. A hideous piece of crap cover.  I think the person who has designed her last couple of book covers should be fired.  It looks so damn juvenile. Not to mention they’ve re-published her old ones with new covers too.  Let’s compare:

The original cover for Demon in My View looks immensely cooler/sophisticated than the new one shown on the right, doesn’t it?  The old one is more artsy looking to me and I like the grimy look. The new one looks too clean and the eye spotlight looks ridiculous. If someone turned this in to a professor in college they’d barely get a passing grade. Gross.

Other than that I’ll keep buying her books. Regardless of bad cover art.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

