Posted by: Raws | January 24, 2011

Reading Manga in the States, Plus New Ones to Checkout

I’ve read manga for 12~ years now and I always love finding new ones to read.  In the old days you’d be lucky to find translations of any manga on the internet (if it was popular enough); now fan made scanlations are everywhere online.  The sheer number available to read is amazing.

Whenever I fall in love with one I always keep an eye out for the official releases in the US.  Sadly, I can’t afford to buy every one I happen to enjoy reading but I do make an effort to buy the series I want to read again.  I love reading official translations. It shows how well the free online translators did on the manga, but with some it shows how poorly it was done.

One such manga is Vampire Knight. I started out reading the official release and when I started to read it online I got really confused about what was going on. Poorly translated… I’ve put off reading it so the US can catch up to where I got before I gave up trying to read it for free. In those instances I’m willing to buy the manga in the States.

So far the only manga I’ve bought the Japanese releases of has been for D.N.Angel. I also buy Asuka (the magazine it’s serialized in) when I can to see the current chapter of the series; that is if it’s running that month.  The mangaka goes on hiatus often.  Tomorrow I’ll be buying the next volume since it was released today! Yay! Also possibly Asuka too.

Recently, I found a new manga to read on Manga Stream. It’s call Billy Bat. I’ve had to read the earlier chapters on another site but I originally found it through them. They only have the 5 current chapters of a few choice manga on their website, so if you want to start at the beginning you’re out of luck. The scanlations are top quality too.

This manga I mention is quite interesting because it’s set in our world in 1949. Here’s wikipedia’s description of it:

“The story is set in 1949 and follows Japanese-American comic book artist Kevin Yamagata as he draws the popular detective series “Billy Bat”. When he learns he may have unconsciously copied the character from an image he saw while serving in occupied Japan, he returns to Japan to get permission to use Billy Bat from its original creator. Upon arriving there, however, he becomes embroiled in a web of murder, cover-ups, and prophecy that all leads back to Billy Bat.”

I’m digging it so far, but I probably won’t want to read it over again once I’m done.  I love the style of it too with its old school comic vibe. It’s worth reading.

If I find anymore interesting ones to read I’ll post them under the Recommendations category.

Tomorrow is my birthday so my blog will be short.  Until then, it’s time for dinner!

Leave a Reply

Categories

