Posted by: Raws | January 2, 2011

2010 Video Game Love?

As I’ve stated before, I’m not a super gamer gal. My past gaming experiences follow a long treacherous winding path starting with the original Nintendo. Though unlike others I never played the actual games. Back in the days of Nintendo and Super Nintendo I didn’t play the games I watched my sister play them. My dad tried in vain to get me into playing by getting me my first game; Bubble Bobble. Since it was a multiplayer game my sister and I could play it together. It didn’t last very long.  Games just weren’t engaging to me back then, so I went back to watching my sister play games like Mario.

I’ve always had a love hate relationship with video games.  It was fun playing multiplayer games with others like Mario Kart, Diddy-Kong Racing and Golden Eye. But watching my sister play single-player games got boring after an hour… Trying to get her interested to doing something other than Nintendo was a pain in the ass. Thank goodness that time in my life is done.

The first game I fell in love with was Final Fantasy 7.  I played it all by myself and beat it in just over 80 hours. Since then I’ve played through it a couple more times putting countless hours into the game.  This got me interested in RPGs but then everything started sucking again.  The only other series I’ve fallen for since  then would have to be Kingdom Hearts.

Recently games have been getting interesting to me again. And they’re definitely not coming out of Japan anymore.  These days I don’t play games unless I can watch someone else do it.  The only exception is with DS and PSP games because watching someone play those is more difficult and I can just play them myself.

Anyway, video games are way more interesting to watch now-a-days than before and this year there are a few game that I either loved watching or love playing. My first pick for 2010 is Minecraft because I can play it for hours on end. It’s the only game I fell in love with playing this year. I’m looking forward to the new updates.

Video games I enjoyed watching in 2010 are as follows:

Fallout: New Vegas

Limbo

Red Dead Redemption

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow

And that’s all I can think of at the moment. I don’t feel like expanding on my reasons why I liked each one. My top favorite of those was definitely Fallout. I really want to play the first two Fallout games myself, but I need to buy them… stupid money

Maybe one day I’ll fall in love with another game but for now my heart belongs to FF7.

Until tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Categories

