Posted by: Raws | December 31, 2010

2010 Book Love

In my previous post, I Think I’m in Love, I mentioned how I fell head over heels for The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I’m still madly in love with Kvothe’s story but I’ve been needing another book series to look forward to till the next book comes out.  And I’ve found one!!  This series is already out and finished in Australia and after reading the first chapters here I’ve fallen in love!!  It was even mentioned on Patrick’s blog too, which is how I found it.

So after waiting for the e-book’s release on kindle I was able to finish it in time for this New Years Eve post!! I’m looking forward to reading the rest! I’ll be done right in time to read The Wise Man’s Fear in March.

The first book in this trilogy by K J Taylor is called The Dark Griffin. Boy, was this a great to read.  Finally a book centered around griffins that’s interesting! I loved how they’re portrayed in its pages!  It is a bit slow at first but I loved reading about the griffins and I could picture it all in my mind’s eye.  Made me want to draw some griffins of my own and to work on my story that centers around them.  That’s why this trilogy is one of my top picks for 2010.

Another book I fell for this month was Incarceron by Catherine Fisher.  I still need to read the second book but I really loved reading this one.  We met thanks to my friend Atlanta mentioning it on her blog.

Another trilogy I’m still working on is Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy. I’m enjoying a leisurely read with the last book.  I love the characters, the story, and the magical mechanics. I’ve just been in the mood for something a bit more angsty and dark.

Another book I almost forgot about that I enjoyed this year was The Black Prism by Brent Weeks. I really enjoyed this book when I read it. It was my rebound book after finishing The Name of the Wind and after I finished that I went onto the Mistborn Trilogy. I’m looking forward to the next book though this first one was definitely overshadowed by Pat’s book, but it did help me get out my TEABS for NOTW. Overall those books got me through that month of hell back in August.

For the sake of keeping this post within topic I won’t elaborate about my summer of hell. Thinking about that time brought to my mind another series I’m deeply in love with but since I started reading it last year I’m not going to include it. I will type about it in another post since it reminds me of my fantasy story I’ve been creating since 1999 or 2000. It’s hard for me to pin point when I started dreaming up that story…

Well that’s it for my top Book Loves of 2010!! Happy New Years everyone!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

