Posted by: Raws | December 15, 2010

I Think I’m In Love

There are many things I’ve “fallen in love” with this year.  In 2007 I discovered my love for TV shows. In high school I fell for manga and anime.  In middle school it was Final Fantasy 7.  But before all that I fell in love with books. It was more of an obsession really.  In fifth grade I ditched school to read The Immortals quartet by Tamora Pierce.

This year I found more books to love.  The big one being Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller trilogy.  I devoured that book in a span of five days and I would’ve finished it faster if I hadn’t had to work.  I spent my work hours thinking about it and even pondered emailing Patrick.  Now I wait on pins and needles for the next book The Wise Man’s Fear…

So in order to pass the time I’ve been reading other books like The Magician, The Hunger Games trilogy, and the Mistborn trilogy. But these haven’t been cutting it. They are good books and I enjoy them immensely but I never have/had to fight the urge to completely devour them all at once.  The Mistborn trilogy comes very close.

There seem to be a lot of good books out there but I’ve begun to feel saturated with text.  So I’ve no choice but to turn to video.  It’s been three years since I began obsessively watching TV series and I love watching the new seasons of the shows I’ve been following since then. But there is nothing like finding a new show and getting pulled in within the first ten minutes.

I really haven’t been watching much of the new ones this year.  The ones I can recall off the top of my head are No Ordinary Family and The Good Guys. Oh and Blue Bloods which I haven’t kept up watching and I only remember it because of its fresh take on crime drama.

Anyway this brings me to my new found love/obsession; Sherlock. A BBC show putting a new spin on Sherlock Holmes. The first five minutes had me and the only thing I regret is how long I’ll have to wait for the new stuff.  I also forced myself to stop watching so I could share it with Casey. I decided to write a blog to pass the time until he gets home from work.

Now I think this will be the start of my favorite Media things of 2010. Media being music, books, tv shows, art, and other things digital. Check back later for more.

Now back to waiting.

Responses

  1. The Name of the Wind is something I fell in love with this year too. sucks, because the book makes nearly everything else look like crap.

  2. Good stuffs is always wonderful. Just remember T.E.A.B.S. and the step by step Awesome Book recovery. I’ve never gotten over The Fountainhead (who could!),but I’ve managed to somewhat enjoy other Russian authors.
    *Let’s continue to scout for great books together!


Leave a Reply

Categories

